Committee to Elect New National Electoral Council to be Defined Next Week
8 noviembre 2019

On November 5, the National Assembly (AN, for its acronym in Spanish) appointed a number of members to the Nomination Committee charged with the task of electing the members of the National Electoral Council (CNE, for its acronym in Spanish). The ruling Partido Socialista Unido de Venezuela (PSUV, for its acronym in Spanish) and the opposition Frente Amplio Venezuela Libre (FAVL, for its acronym in Spanish) appointed nine deputies. This initiative is part of a six-point agreement signed on 16 September by ruling party representatives with members from the opposition not allied with Juan Guaidó. One more PSUV deputy and ten civil society representatives are to be elected to the Nomination Committee next Monday.

In the debate, the ruling party asked the National Constituent Assembly (ANC, for its acronym in Spanish) to set up a liaison committee with the NA to oversee the CNE appointment process. However, FAVL rejected the proposal, considering that the ANC should not intervene in this matter.

Dep. William Gil, Dep. Nosliu Rodríguez and Dep. Jesús Montilla are the Nomination Committee members representing the ruling party. The opposition appointed Dep. Ángel Medina, Dep. Luis Aquiles Moreno, Dep. Stalin González, Dep. Piero Mouron, Dep. Olivia Lozano and Dep. Franklin Duarte.