What is the Quito Process?
8 noviembre 2019

The set of meetings held in the Ecuadorian capital and the commitments made by 11 governments in the region to coordinate the response to the Venezuelan migration crisis are called the “Quito Process”. The countries behind the commitments are Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay.

The first meeting took place on September 3 and 4, 2018. On that occasion, the “Quito Declaration on Human Mobility of Venezuelan Citizens in the Region” was signed, which contains 18 points related to the reception of migrants, coordination of efforts with international organizations, the fight against discrimination, intolerance and xenophobia, among others.

The second meeting was held from November 22 to 23, 2018, and concluded with the approval of an action plan that includes three areas: deepening the mechanisms of Venezuelan migration in the region; international financial cooperation; and articulation with those organizations of the international system that have a relationship and competence with migration and refugee issues. The plan was signed by the governments of Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay.  

The third meeting was held on April 8 and 9, 2019 with the aim of following up on the agreements reached in the two previous meetings. On this occasion, the governments of Ecuador, Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and the representative designated by Juan Guaidó signed a Joint Declaration comprising 14 points.

Noticias Relacionadas