Arauz is most voted candidate, awaits contender for April 11 run-off
11 febrero 2021


On February 7, presidential and legislative elections were held in Ecuador to elect the new President and the 137 members of the National Assembly for the next four years (2021-2025). Although Andrés Aráuz (UNES) won the elections, he will have to run off next April 11 against an as-yet undefined candidate, given that so far Yaku Pérez (UPP) and Guillermo Lasso (CREO) are tied. The National Electoral Council is expected to announce the official results in the next few days. Access the full report by clicking here.

In the meantime, the Legislative branch remains fragmented, with 8 political parties unable to push forward their own legislative agenda without achieving consensus with the rest. In this scenario, negotiations and alliances between parties will be key to set an agenda, advance or reject the bills of the incoming administration.

Preliminary results indicate that UNES would have the largest number of seats in the National Assembly, followed by Movimiento de la Unidad Plurinacional Pachakutik, Izquierda Democrática and CREO. None of the parties are expected to have a legislative majority.

Noticias Relacionadas
Fatal error: Exception thrown without a stack frame in Unknown on line 0