The European Union sanctions Venezuelan public officials
29 junio 2018

On June 25th, the European Union (EU) applied sanctions against eleven members of Nicolás Maduro’s administration, such as the Vice President of Venezuela, Delcy Rodríguez, and the new head of the Sectoral Economy Vice-Presidency, Tareck el Aissami, for considering them responsible for undermining the Venezuelan democracy after the criticized May 20th presidential elections. In addition, the public officials are accused of violating human rights. The Bolivarian government issued a statement rejecting the sanctions.


The sanctioned public officials can no longer travel to the EU and the assets they have there are frozen. In this regard, the Venezuelan Ministry of Foreign Affairs rejects “the continued aggression of the EU as it is an attack on our sovereignty”. Diosdado Cabello, the president of the National Constituent Assembly (ANC), considers that the measures are illegal and immoral and constitute an “attack against the Venezuelan people”.


The rest of the sanctioned public officials are:

  • Sergio José Rivero, inspector general of the Bolivarian National Armed Forces;
  • Jesús Rafael Suárez, general commander of the Bolivarian Army;
  • Iván Hernández, head of the General Directorate of Military Counterintelligence;
  • Elías José Jaua Milano, Minister of Education;
  • Sandra Oblitas, vice president of the National Electoral Council (CNE);
  • Freddy Alirio Bernal, director of the National Command and Control Center of the Local Supply and Production Commissions (CLAP);
  • Katherine Nayarith Harrington, Deputy Attorney General;
  • Socorro Elizabeth Hernández, member of the CNE and the National Electoral Board; and
  • Xavier Antonio Moreno, general secretary of the CNE.
Noticias Relacionadas